Potomac-Debate-Academy-Logo---Horizontal

 ‪(866) 833-2283

Potomac.png

Nationally Recognized Online 
Debate Program

Improved public speaking skills
Stronger academic performance
Better standardized test scores
Higher college admission chances
3.png

Location

Online via Zoom
(Real, expert debate coaches!)

4.png

Dates

January Courses (16 sessions):
Start: Week of Jan 9th
End: Week of May 8th
 

February Courses (12 sessions): 

Start: Week of Feb 6th
End: Week of May 8th
 

5.png

Pricing

January Courses:
$600 (Gr. 4-5)          
$850 (Gr. 6-8, 9-12)

February Courses:
$450 (Gr. 4-5)          
$675 (Gr. 6-8, 9-12)

Novice Teams

If you are looking to join us for the first time this January or February, we recommend that you attend our free trial/tryout before registering. If you are unable to attend our free trial/tryout, you can register for the novice level that is appropriate for your age group.
(Class times vary by team. Please see second page of registration form for available class times)

January Teams

Name

Ruby Team (Grades 4-5)

Sapphire Team (Gr. 6-8)

Amber Team (Gr. 9-12)

Duration

60 minutes/session (16 weeks)

90 minutes/session (16 weeks)


90 minutes/session (16 weeks)

Price

$600

$850

$850

February Teams

$675

$675

Schedule

Ruby Teams (Grades 4-5)

Sapphire Teams (Gr. 6-8)

Amber Teams (Gr. 9-12)

January Course Options (Pick One Per Student)

-Sunday @ 02:15 PM - 03:15 PM EDT (11:15 AM - 12:15 PM PDT)


 

-Sunday @ 04:00 PM - 05:30 PM EDT (01:00 PM - 02:30 PM PDT)


-Monday @ 07:15 PM - 08:45 PM EDT (04:15 PM - 05:45 PM PDT)

-Wednesday @ 05:30 PM - 07:15 PM EDT (02:30 PM - 04:15 PM PDT)

-Sunday @ 05:45 PM - 07:15 PM EDT (02:45 PM - 04:15 PM PDT)

-Tuesday @ 07:15 PM - 08:45 PM EDT (04:15 PM - 05:45 PM PDT)

Ruby Teams (Grades 4-5)

Sapphire Teams (Gr. 6-8)

Amber Teams (Gr. 9-12)

February Course Options (Pick One Per Student)

-Sunday @ 02:15 PM - 03:15 PM EDT (11:15 AM - 12:15 PM PDT)

-Sunday @ 04:45 PM - 06:15 PM EDT (01:45 PM - 03:15 PM PDT)

-Sunday @ 08:00 PM - 09:00 PM EDT (05:00 PM - 06:00 PM PDT)

-Sunday @ 01:00 PM - 02:30 PM EDT (10:00 AM - 11:30 AM PDT)

 

-Sunday @ 02:45 PM - 04:15 PM EDT (11:45 AM - 01:15 PM PDT)


-Sunday @ 04:00 PM - 05:30 PM EDT (01:00 PM - 02:30 PM PDT)

-Sunday @ 05:45 PM - 07:15 PM EDT (02:45 PM - 04:15 PM PDT)

-Monday @ 05:30 PM - 07:00 PM EDT (02:30 PM - 04:00 PM PDT)

-Wednesday @ 05:30 PM - 07:00 PM EDT (02:30 PM - 04:00 PM PDT)

-Sunday @ 04:00 PM - 05:30 PM EDT (01:00 PM - 02:30 PM PDT)

-Sunday @ 05:45 PM - 07:15 PM EDT (02:45 PM - 04:15 PM PDT)

-Thursday @ 07:15 PM - 08:45 PM EDT (04:15 PM - 05:45 PM PDT)

$450

Price

Ruby Team (Grades 4-5)

Sapphire Team (Gr. 6-8)

Amber Team (Gr. 9-12)

Duration

60 minutes/session (12 weeks)

90 minutes/session (12 weeks)


90 minutes/session (12 weeks)

Name

Experienced Debaters

If you are an experienced debater with prior competitive debate experience, please send your debate record and a sample case to leadership@potomacdebate.com (or attend our free trial/tryout for placement). 
(Class days/times vary. Please see second page of registration form for available class days/times)

Potomac-Debate-Academy-Logo---Vertical_e
Potomac-Debate-Academy-Logo---Vertical_e

Our Track Record of Success
2021 National Speech and Debate Association Champions

2020 Harvard Middle School Champions and High School Varsity Finalists

Since the start of the 2020-21 school year, we have:
Potomac (4).png
Competed in 46 debate tournaments in 20 states
Potomac (4).png
Won 294 team awards
Potomac (4).png
Won 140 individual speaker awards
Potomac-Debate-Academy-Logo---Vertical_e

Debate Tournaments

Outside of class, all students can compete at debate tournaments. Our programs hosts an online tournament once a month that is open to all students. Once a student moves up to the Junior Varsity level they are able to compete on the national debate circuit, which may include tournaments such as Georgetown University, Harvard Invitational, and the annual Tournament of Champions. Please note that tournaments happen outside of class and are not included in tuition because registration fees for tournaments vary and are beyond our control. 

website12.JPG

Skills:     • public speaking  •  argumentation  •  critical thinking  •  logic reasoning •  analysis •  research & writing

Potomac-Debate-Academy-Logo---Vertical_e

Frequently Asked Questions:

What should I expect?
Each class meeting is unique and designed with the needs of the students in mind. We strive to get students up and debating as fast as possible and work to teach fundamental debate skills that are appropriate for the course level. Students will participate in speaking exercises and mock debates, learn important skills, such as how to conduct research and write cases, and improve their public speaking skills through the lens of a debate topic of global importance. 

What type of debate do you do?
Our team specializes in Public Forum debate, which is a partner based debate format where students present arguments for and against a set resolution. Public Forum is a national debate activity governed by the National Speech and Debate Association, and is one of the most popular forms of debate around the nation that all students can participate in. 

How do you select the topics?
All rules and topics are selected by the National Speech and Debate Association. Past topics include:

  • Resolved: In the United States, social media is beneficial for democratic values.

  • Resolved: The United Nations should grant India permanent membership on the Security Council.

  • Resolved: On balance, the benefits of creating the United States Space Force outweigh the harms. 


What skills will my child develop by joining your team?
Debating helps students improve their public speaking, critical thinking, logical reasoning, research and writing skills. Students who participate in debate will also be able to identify logical fallacies, gain confidence, and expand their understanding of current events. Studies show that debaters, on average, have higher grades in school, stronger test scores, and better college admission outcomes. In fact, our top ranked debaters are consistently admitted into the top colleges around the nation, including Harvard, Stanford, and Yale. 

What is a free trial/tryout?
Our free trial is similar to a tryout. It is a great way for families to learn more about our program and assess if debate might be for them, as well as an opportunity for our team to assess if students interested in debate are ready for our program. 

What if I realize debate is not for my student?
If a student new to our debate team drops from the team after the first class, a full refund will be provided as long as the coach is notified at least 24 hours before the start of the second class. If a new student drops from the team within the first three classes, a pro-rated refund will be made as long as the coach is notified at least 24 hours before the start of the fourth class. No refunds will be provided outside of this window.

  • Facebook

3204 Tower Oaks Blvd, Rockville, MD 20852

© 2019 by Potomac Debate Academy. Potomac Tutoring LLC.