top of page
Potomac-Debate-Academy-Logo---Horizontal

 ‪(866) 833-2283

Potomac.png

Join Nationally Recognized
Debate Program

Potomac (4).png
2022 Harvard High School Varsity Champions
2023 Tournament of Champions Finalists
2023 Harvard Middle School Champions 
2023 IPPF World Champions
Improved public speaking skills
Stronger academic performance
Better standardized test scores
Higher college admission chances
3.png

Location

Online via Zoom
(Real, expert debate coaches!)
(in-person course schedule here)

4.png

Dates

Weeks of Oct 15-Dec 10
 

5.png

Pricing

$525 (8 weeks)

Register soon! Space is limited!

Novice Teams

These courses are designed for students who are new to Public Forum debate. During class, students will learn the Public Forum debate format, how to write and research arguments, practice impromptu speaking, and gain experience in mock debates. All instruction will be taught through the lens of a debate topic of global significance.

Course Options

Elementary School (Grades 4 - 5)

Wednesday @ 5:30 PM - 7 PM ET (2:30 PM - 4 PM PT)

Middle School (Grades 6 - 8)

Sunday @ 5:45 PM - 7:15 PM ET (2:45 PM - 4:15 PM PT)


Monday @ 6:45 PM - 8:15 PM ET (3:45 PM - 5:15 PM PT)

High School (Grades 9 - 12)

Sunday @ 6:15 PM - 7:45 PM ET (3:15 PM - 4:45 PM PT)

Intro Video

Potomac-Debate-Academy-Logo---Vertical_e
Potomac-Debate-Academy-Logo---Vertical_e

Junior Varsity

For experienced debater with prior competitive debate experience. During class, students will continue to practice their debate skills, while learning new advanced concepts such as argument weighing, round strategy, judge adaptation, and more. Debaters who've taken a debate course with us in the past should refer to their evaluation email for placement recommendations. 

1st Semester Debaters

Elementary School (Grades 4 - 5)

Unavailable

Middle School (Grades 6 - 8)

Sunday @ 04:00 PM - 05:30 PM ET
(01:00 PM - 02:30 PM PT)

Wednesday @ 06:45 PM - 08:15 PM ET
(03:45 PM - 05:15 PM PT)

High School (Grades 9 - 12)

Sunday @ 05:45 PM - 07:15 PM ET
(02:45 PM - 04:15 PM PT)

 

Tuesday @ 07:15 PM - 08:45 PM ET
(04:15 PM - 05:45 PM PT)

2nd Semester Debaters

Elementary School (Grades 4 - 5)

Sunday @ 02:45 PM - 04:15 PM ET
(11:45 AM - 01:15 PM PT)

Middle School (Grades 6 - 8)

Sunday @ 04:00 PM - 05:30 PM ET
(01:00 PM - 02:30 PM PT)

Sunday @ 07:30 PM - 09:00 PM ET
(04:30 PM - 06:00 PM PT)

Wednesday @ 06:45 PM - 08:15 PM ET
(03:45 PM - 05:15 PM PT)

Thursday @ 07:15 PM - 08:45 PM ET
(04:15 PM - 05:45 PM PT)

High School (Grades 9 - 12)

Sunday @ 05:45 PM - 07:15 PM ET
(02:45 PM - 04:15 PM PT)

Tuesday @ 07:15 PM - 08:45 PM ET
(04:15 PM - 05:45 PM PT)

Varsity & Varsity+ Courses

Varsity/Varsity+ courses are the highest possible level of placement on our team for debaters who have a strong grasp of debate fundamentals and seek to compete in the highest level of the national circuit. Classes at the varsity level are adapted to student’s experience, tournament participation, and individual needs. Students in this class focus on topics from collapsing and weighing to "progressive debate" in the form of "Ks" and theories. All students will debate the high school topic assigned by the National Speech and Debate Association. Previous Potomac Debate debaters should refer to their evaluation emails for placements.

Course Options

Varsity (Gr. 4-5)

Sunday @ 02:15 PM - 03:45 PM ET (11:15 AM - 12:45 PM PT)

Varsity (Grades 6 - 8)

Sunday @ 06:15 PM - 07:45 PM ET (03:15 PM - 04:45 PM PT)

Monday @ 07:15 PM - 08:45 PM ET (04:15 PM - 05:45 PM PT)

Wednesday @ 07:15 PM - 08:45 PM ET (04:15 PM - 05:45 PM PT)

Varsity+ (Grades 6 - 8)

Sunday @ 06:15 PM - 07:45 PM (03:15 PM - 04:45 PM)

Monday @ 07:15 PM - 08:45 PM (04:15 PM - 05:45 PM)

Wednesday @ 07:15 PM - 08:45 PM (04:15 PM - 05:45 PM)

Varsity (Grades 9 -12)

Sunday @ 07:30 PM - 09:00 PM ET  (04:30 PM - 06:00 PM PT)

Tuesday @ 05:30 PM - 07:00 PM ET (02:30 PM - 04:00 PM PT)

Tuesday @ 07:15 PM - 08:45 PM ET (04:15 PM - 05:45 PM PT)

Varsity+ (Grades 9 - 12)

Sunday @ 07:30 PM - 09:00 PM ET (04:30 PM - 06:00 PM PT)

Thursday @ 07:15 PM - 08:45 PM ET (04:15 PM - 05:45 PM PT)

Potomac-Debate-Academy-Logo---Vertical_e
Potomac-Debate-Academy-Logo---Vertical_e

Tournaments

Outside of class, all students can compete at debate tournaments. Our programs hosts an online tournament once a month that is open to all students. Once a student moves up to the Junior Varsity level they are able to compete on the national debate circuit, which may include tournaments such as Georgetown University, Harvard Invitational, and the annual Tournament of Champions. Please note that tournaments happen outside of class and are not included in tuition because registration fees for tournaments vary and are beyond our control. 

website12.JPG

Skills:     • public speaking  •  argumentation  •  critical thinking  •  logic reasoning •  analysis •  research & writing

Potomac-Debate-Academy-Logo---Vertical_e

Our Track Record of Success

Since the start of the school year, we have:
Potomac (4).png
Competed in 46 debate tournaments in 20 states
Potomac (4).png
Won 294 team awards
Potomac (4).png
Won 140 individual speaker awards
Potomac-Debate-Academy-Logo---Vertical_e

Frequently Asked Questions:

What should I expect?
Each class meeting is unique and designed with the needs of the students in mind. We strive to get students up and debating as fast as possible and work to teach fundamental debate skills that are appropriate for the course level. Students will participate in speaking exercises and mock debates, learn important skills, such as how to conduct research and write cases, and improve their public speaking skills through the lens of a debate topic of global importance. 

What type of debate is this?
Public Forum is a partner based debate format where students present arguments for and against a set resolution. This particular style of debate encourages students to research the topics beforehand and write up "cases," which strengthen students' research and writing skills. During competition, students are tasked with presenting their cases to a judge while taking the time to rebut the opposing teams' arguments. 


What skills will my child develop by joining your team?
Debating helps students improve their public speaking, critical thinking, logical reasoning, research and writing skills. Students who participate in debate will also be able to identify logical fallacies, gain confidence, and expand their understanding of current events. Studies show that debaters, on average, have higher grades in school, stronger test scores, and better college admission outcomes. In fact, our top ranked debaters are consistently admitted into the top colleges around the nation, including Harvard, Stanford, and Yale. 

What is a free trial/tryout?
Our free trial/tryout is a great way for families to learn more about our program and assess if debate might be for them, as well as an opportunity for our team to assess if students interested in debate are ready for our program. During our free trial/tryout, students work in small groups with an instructor to run through debate exercises. Once tryouts are over our team will reach out to all accepted students with recommended next steps. Most students are placed into our classes for beginners, but experienced debaters can be placed into more advanced classes.

What if I realize debate is not for my student?

If a student who is new to our debate team drops from the team after the first class, a full refund will be provided as long as the coach is notified at least 24 hours before the start of the second class. No refunds will be provided outside of this window.

  • Facebook

3204 Tower Oaks Blvd, Rockville, MD 20852

© 2019 by Potomac Debate Academy. Potomac Tutoring LLC.

bottom of page